Why Does It Take So Long?


The inevitable question that Dave and I are getting asked this time around is “why does it take so long for you to bring Simon home?” Rewind 3 years and people were only waiting 4-12 WEEKS to bring their children home from S. Korea. In the past couple of years or so, though, the S. Korean government has been trying to reduce the number of children being adopted by families abroad. Rumors are swirling around the whole issue, so it’s sometimes hard to decipher the truth, but what we do know is that they are allowing less emigration permits to be issued each year.

When we first started our adoption process, the wait times were 5-8 months. Completely do-able. A tiny bit longer than a Philippines’ adoption wait time to travel. In the last update we received from our agency, though, we were told the wait times will be 8-12 months, and have potential to be even longer than that. The adoption forums are going a little crazy over it all and predicting an 18 month wait to travel. Disheartening, but at the same time I try to keep focused on the fact that no matter what, SOMEDAY, we will bring Simon home.

After the first of the year, I think we’ll know more about the timeline for travel. But really, you don’t know until that phone call finally comes in saying, “You’ve been approved to travel!” And you better believe that we will be jumping on the next plane out of dodge to hold our sweetheart in our arms. If you’re thinking of us, please shoot up a little prayer that wait times somehow decrease and that we are able to bring him home sooner than predicted. While it’s hard on Dave and I to wait for this little man, I can tell it’s even harder on Eze. At least once per day he tells me that he wishes Simon was home, that he misses him. My sweet big boy.

2 responses to “Why Does It Take So Long?

  1. God, of all the questions people asked me during my wait for Lily (8 months from referral to travel), that was the one that irritated me the most. Not because they folks asking weren’t well intentioned, but simply because I never really had an answer!

  2. What got me through was shoving Malia’s pictures in anyone’s face I could. Seriously. If someone brought up wait times, I just made them listen to me babble on about how old she was in each photo, and how much she was being loved in Korea. Of course it was excruciating, but it never gets old to hear others tell you how cute your child is.

Leave a Reply

